Mack Brown

Mack Brown

Former University of Texas football coach Mack Brown is the recipient of the 2016 Paul “Bear” Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award, the American Heart Association announced Thursday.

The award’s presentation will be Jan. 13 at the 30th anniversary event in Houston.

Brown coached the Longhorns for 16 seasons. He led Texas to a national championship and 11 bowl wins — including two Bowl Championship Series victories.

Prior to his time at the University of Texas, Brown served nine years as head coach for the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. He is one of few coaches in the history of college football to lead two separate programs to a top five national finish.

Brown was named the American Heart Association’s 2005 Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year. In 2009, he was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year.

The Paul “Bear” Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the career accomplishments of the nation’s college football coaches. Among the past recipients of this award are Jimmy Johnson (2015), R.C. Slocum (2014), LaVell Edwards (2013) and Hayden Fry (2012).

While the Lifetime Achievement Award highlights the achievements throughout a coach’s career, the Coach of the Year award, which is presented after each season’s bowl games, recognizes a college football coach for an outstanding season.

The Bryant Awards presented by Marathon Oil Corp. has raised over $6 million in the past 29 years to fund research, advocacy and educational programs across the country to prevent and treat cardiovascular disease and stroke.  “Bear” Bryant died of a heart attack in 1983.